• Date and time: Friday 7 June 2019, 7.30pm to 9.30pm
  • Location: Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, Campus West, University of York (Map)
  • Audience: Open to the public
  • Admission: £6 (Concessions £4, students £3), booking required

Event details

The Chimera Ensemble performs a programme including Jacob Sachs-Mishalanie’s I if I for string quartet and electronics, which explores the differences in interpretation of meaning, expression, and genuineness in acoustic and electronic sounds.

Her Disappearance by Bethany Younge and Kayleigh Butcher also features in this concert, focusing on the distortion of voice and tone through the use of PVC pipes. The programme also includes other new works.

In addition to the evening concert, The Chimera Ensemble will also be performing a lunchtime concert on the same day at 1.15pm. Tickets are £2 on the door or free to University of York Music Society members. 

For the evening concert, tickets are also available on the door or by calling 01904 322439.

About the performers

The Chimera Ensemble is a highly flexible student-run ensemble at the University of York. The group provides a public forum for new undergraduate and postgraduate compositions and also gives students the opportunity to perform challenging contemporary repertoire. Recent performances have included Ligeti's Chamber Concerto, Donatoni's Spiri, Grisey's Partiels and Roger Marsh's Kagura. In addition to performances within York, the Chimera Ensemble has toured Portugal, Japan and Germany.


Venue details

  • Wheelchair accessible