This event has now finished.
  • Date and time: Saturday 8 June 2024, 1pm to 2.30pm
  • Location: In-person only
    The Mount School, Dalton Terrace (Map)
  • Admission: Free admission, booking required

Event details

A Quaker Trilogy grew from a concept to inspire young composers at the beginning of their careers by offering funds for the commission of three pieces for the Micklegate Singers.

The brief was simple: the composers could choose whichever words from a passage written by William Penn that is often read at Quaker memorial meetings they felt they wanted to work with. The fruits of their labours have proved to be a challenge for the choir, but the pieces are all remarkable, and each has been loved by the choir in rehearsal and by the audiences at their respective first performances.

The three talented composers from the University of York - David McGregor, Joe Bates, and Frederick Viner - will explain the appeal of the text, how they selected which words to set, and what musical thoughts and construction techniques lay behind their compositions.

The three pieces comprising A Quaker Trilogy, now published by University of York Music Press, will be performed by the Micklegate Singers, under their Musical Director, Nicholas Carter, and the discussion will be chaired by Nicola LeFanu.

Please note: Access to The Mount School is via Driffield Terrace. Car parking will be available, but cars need to be registered to avoid a parking fee.

Find out more about the Micklegate Singers and the University of York Music Press.

Photo Credit: Michael Parkes


Micklegate Singers University of York Music Press The Mount School

Venue details

  • Wheelchair accessible