This event has now finished.
  • Date and time: Monday 3 June 2024, 8pm to 9.40pm
  • Location: In-person only
    National Centre for Early Music, Walmgate (Map)
  • Admission: Tickets: £15 (£5 full-time students), booking required

Event details

Bach and his fellow 18th century composers were nothing if not practical musicians, often re-inventing their own material for changing performance situations. In this same spirit, violinist Margaret Faultless has arranged Bach’s so-called ‘orchestral suites’ for string quartet – enabling both players and audience to enjoy this incredible music in more intimate settings.

The Night Shift is the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment’s (OAE) series of informal chamber music gigs. Presented cabaret style at the NCEM, these concerts join together the Orchestral Suite No 1 (BWV 1066) along with the Adagio from Organ Suite No 3 and a few surprises – a chocolate box selection of Bach.

So come along, grab a drink with friends (or meet some new ones) and enjoy the music.

 Find out more about the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment.


National Centre for Early Music

Venue details

  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hearing loop