This event has now finished.
  • Date and time: Saturday 8 June 2024, 7.30pm to 9.30pm
  • Location: In-person only
    York Minster (Map)
  • Admission: Tickets: £3 to £25, booking required

Event details

Elspeth Piggott, Helen Neeves  soprano 
Helena Cooke  mezzo-soprano 
James Beddoe  tenor 
Patrick Osborne  bass

Robert Hollingworth, John Stringer  conductors

Mozart            Mass in C minor, K. 427
Bruckner         Motets: Locus iste; Christus factus est
Bruckner         Te Deum in C, WAB 45
Bruckner         Symphonic Prelude in C minor, ed. Hiltl

University Choir, The 24 and University Symphony Orchestra join forces in the historic setting of York Minster for Mozart’s ‘Great’ Mass in C minor. First performed in Salzburg in 1783, it remained incomplete on the composer’s death in 1791. Nevertheless, the piece works wonderfully in concert and is widely considered to be one of Mozart’s greatest choral works.

While demonstrating the pomp and solemnity of Salzburgian traditions at the time, the Mass looks forward to Haydn’s symphony-masses and Mozart’s late operas – the Da Ponte trilogy, La clemenza di Tito and Die Zauberflöte – with some spectacular arias, a duet and a trio. The programme also includes a selection of works by Bruckner – as we celebrate the 200th anniversary of the composer’s birth - including his great Te Deum in C which Bruckner described as ‘the pride of his life.’

Find out more about more about the University of York’s School of Arts and Creative Technologies’ ensembles.

Photo credit: Alex Holland, University of York



York Concerts

Venue details

  • Wheelchair accessible