This event has now finished.
  • Date and time: Sunday 19 June 2022, 7.30pm to 9.30pm
  • Location: In-person only
    Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, Campus West, University of York (Map)
  • Admission: Free admission, booking required

Event details

Join us for an unforgettable evening exploring William Herschel’s musical worlds.

Herschel scholar Sarah Waltz guides us through works by William Herschel and composers he may have played and admired during his time in the North of England, performed by leading period musicians and directed by Claire Holden. Alongside this historical music, hear contemporary works from York musicians drawing on scientific and astronomical data.

PLEASE NOTE that this event is now free of charge. 


Part One 

Mark Hanslip: Gandering 1 

William Herschel: Symphony No.8 in C minor (1761)

Charles Avison: Trio Sonata, Op.8 no.4

William Herschel: Symphony No.9 in F, 'Andante assai' (slow movement) (1761)

William Herschel: Oboe Concerto No.1 in E flat (1759). Soloist – Rachel Chaplin




Part Two

William Herschel: Quartet ‘Pray, let us Sing a Merry Catch’, and Trio ‘Echo Catch’

William Herschel: Duet ‘With these my Daphne’; Trio ‘The Spring Gardens Concert’

Jacob Herschel: Sinfonia No.26

William Herschel: Organ Sonata No.2 in B flat – Ben Horden

William Herschel: Symphony 14 in D (1762)

Naomi Perera: Hydrogen for solo flute and drone


University of York logo

Venue details

  • Wheelchair accessible